top of page
  • Writer's pictureGaynor Lowndes

Why the Changes?

Following on from the last post, this month we are going to explore why the government will be introducing the CDC model. There are several reasons for this shift towards a consumer directed care approach. There has been extensive research from international experiences that suggest that services delivered with a CDC approach, result in better outcomes to quality of life, independence and satisfaction with care.

CDC is not a new concept to  Australia; enhanced choice through greater consumer involvement in the delivery of disability services has been a feature of programs in this sector since the mid 1980s.

The greater client focus in these services has been seen in a range of consumer and/or family direct support programs over many years. The disability services sectors in most states and territories now offer a number of programs or trials designed to promote independence and choice.

Several consumer groups have also been involved in strongly advocating for a shift towards CDC models. Both Alzheimer’s Australia and the Council of the Ageing (COTA) have both been strong advocates of the move towards this model. The main benefit of this model is older people being able to have a more active voice in the care and support services they receive.

Under the CDC model, there are four levels of Home Care Packages:

▪        Home Care Level 1 – to support people with basic care needs. ▪        Home Care Level 2 – to support people with low level care needs. ▪        Home Care Level 3 – to support people with intermediate care needs. ▪        Home Care Level 4 – to support people with high care needs.

These new levels will replace the HACC,EACH,CACP

A Home Care Package is a coordinated package of services tailored to meet the consumer's specific care needs. A home care provider coordinates the package, with funding provided by the Australian Government.


bottom of page